Aaron 3.17.17

  • Hadoop Environment
    • More fun discussions on our changes to Hadoop development today. Essentially we have a DevOps box with a baby Hadoop cluster we can use for development.
  • ClusteringService scaffold / deploy
    • I spent a bit of time today building out the scaffold MicroService that will manage clustering requests, dispatch the MapReduce to populate the comparison tensor, and interact with the TensorFlow Python.
    • I ran into a few fits and starts with syntax issues where the service name was causing fits because of errant “-“. I resolved those and updated the dockerfile with the new TensorFlow docker image. Once I have a finished list of the packages I need installed for Python integration I’ll have to have them updated to that image.
    • Bob said he would look at moving over the scaffold of our MapReduce job launching code from a previous service, and I suggested he not blow away all the work I had just done and copy the as needed pieces in.
  • TFRecord output
    • Trying to complete the code for outputting MapReduce results as a TFRecord protobuff objects for TensorFlow.
    • I created a PythonIntegrationPlayground project with an OutputTFRecord.java class responsible for building a populated test matrix in a format that TensorFlow can view.
    • Google supports this with their ecosystem libraries here. The library includes instructions with versions and a working sample for MapReduce as well as Spark.
    • The frustrating thing is that presumably to avoid issues with version mismatches, they require you to compile your own .proto files with the protoc compiler, then build your own JAR for the ecosystem.hadoop library. Enough changes have happened with protoc and how it handles the locations of multiple inter-connected proto files that you absolutely HAVE to use the locations they specify for your TensorFlow installation or it will not work. In the old days you could copy the .proto files local to where you wanted to output them to avoid path issues, but that is now a Bad Thing(tm).
    • The correct commands to use are:
      • protoc –proto_path=%TF_SRC_ROOT% –java_out=src\main\java\ %TF_SRC_ROOT%\tensorflow\core\example\example.proto
      • protoc –proto_path=%TF_SRC_ROOT% –java_out=src\main\java\ %TF_SRC_ROOT%\tensorflow\core\example\feature.proto
    • After this you will need Apache Maven to build the ecosystem JAR and install so it can be used. I pulled down the latest (v3.3.9) from maven.apache.org.
    • Because I’m a sad, sad man developing on a Windows box I had to disable to Maven tests to build the JAR, but it’s finally built and in my repo.
  • Java/Python interaction
    • I looked at a bunch of options for Java/Python interaction that would be performant enough, and allow two-way communication between Java/Python if necessary. This would allow the service to provide the location in HDFS to the TensorFlow/Sci-Kit Python clustering code and receive success/fail messages at the very least.
    • Digging on StackOverflow lead me to a few options.
    • Digging a little further I found JPServe, a small library based on PyServe that uses JSON to send complex messages back to Java.
    • I think for our immediate needs its most straightforward to use the ProcessBuilder approach:
      • ProcessBuilder pb = new ProcessBuilder(“python”,”test1.py”,””+number1,””+number2);
      • Process p = pb.start();
    • This does allow return codes, although not complex return data, but it avoids having to manage a PyServe instance inside a Java MicroService.
  • Cycling
    • I’ve been looking forward to a good ride for several days now, as the weather has been awful (snow/ice). Got up to high 30s today, and no visible ice on the roads so Phil and I went out for our ride together.
    • It was the first time I’ve been out with Phil on a bike with gears, and its clear how much I’ve been able to abuse him being on a fixie. If he’s hard to keep up with on a fixed gear, its painful on gears. That being said, I think I surprised him a bit when I kept a 9+ mph pace up the first hill next to him and didn’t die.
    • My average MPH dropped a bit because I burned out early, but I managed to rally and still clock a ~15 mph average with some hard peddling towards the end.
    • I’m really enjoying cycling. It’s not a hobby I would have expected would click with me, but its a really fun combination of self improvement, tenacity, min-maxing geekery, and meditation.
Leave a Reply

